One basket

As much as I’m trying to shovel away money so I can go to school full-time in the fall semester, the prospect of not working and living off of my meager savings is really scary. I’m going to need a job. My current work is not the kind of thing that can be done part-time, and I thought maybe I could finagle a job as a pharmacy tech. It will probably be crazy difficult though, unfortunately, because I live in an area that seems to be extremely competitive. There are probably a ton of CVS/Walgreens/Rite-Aids, etc., but there’s also a whole host of community colleges and for-profit institutes offering pharm tech certifications. It’s sort of ridiculous. I’m not sure I’d be competitive with those folks, since I have a BA and MA and just office experience, rather than retail experience. Maybe they’d feel like someone with an AA should get a chance to do what they’re certified to do because they might not be competitive for another kind of job. Maybe I would hate being a pharm tech or get stuck being one forever if I couldn’t get into pharm school.

The heart of the matter is that it’s scary to put all of my eggs in one basket. It’s nearly March. I have to figure out how to move forward.

