Bad (idea) study habits

I can’t remember if I’ve written about my bad habits before, but I certainly haven’t improved. Part 1 of my second big Chem Exam of the semester was this morning (conceptual stuff on acids and bases and aqueous ionic solutions), and I did what I always so the night before the exam. I stay up all night and get frazzled.

I want to say I don’t know why I do this, but I have some suspicions. I’m afraid of “forgetting” the information. That’s stupid, because I pretty much had no idea how to figure out what conceptual questions would be on this test.

Showing up to a test that requires you to think without the ability to do any thinking? Bad idea. Though this is one of the first times staying up all night has worked out badly for me. I know I got questions wrong, like multiple problems worth 3 points each. Argh.

The professor is merciless when it comes to grading. Luckily we can drop one lecture exam. And it’s left to me to figure out why I didn’t understand the material conceptually. I do love calculations and problem-solving, so I probably skipped over the conceptual stuff. I have disdain for concepts. They seem to get in the way of puzzling, and I feel like they out to told up front, rather than everyone expecting us to reason it out. we’re really beginners in chemistry.

 

I wish I could go to sleep the night before a quiz or test. The problem is is that I get this laser sharp focus an hour before I should hit the sack. I get really invigorated, and I feel like I have so much to read and study. It actually ends up being exciting. Except for when I realize it’s 7 am and my recall isn’t very good.

I’m going to have to figure this one out. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

